Colt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Collectible SAA\'s

I am new to Colts; have been a collector of Rugers, so I guess you guys would say I am graduating into the bigtime. My interest is single action revolvers. I have a very broad question. Among 2nd and 3rd generation and later custom shop SAA's, and considering only "standard" guns (i.e. not engraved, cased, etc.), where does collectibility start and end? I imagine the earlier the better, with box better, and obviously condition is important. Basically, I guess I'm asking if 3rd gen. are collectible or if one should stick to 2nd and earlier. Your opinions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Banned
1,130 Posts
Re: Collectible SAA\'s

welcome to the forum.first gen guns are very pricey in collector grade, 2nd guns nib,or as nib are almost as bad.personally i dont think any saa is going to loose much value. the old advise buy the best you can afford applies here.

·
Registered
10 Posts

I would like to add another question to this thread.
Does Colt still make the SAA,if so is the quality as good as the Python as in the lock up and the finish ?
I have read so much about the Python revolver and how well they were made and was wondering if the same could be said for a new SAA if there are any ?

·
Registered
154 Posts