Colt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need help with info on a Colt New Frontier 22 cal. I am not finding much info looking under that name but that is what is on the barrel I am looking for an orginal box and ran across this one on Ebay that says Scout 22. Is it the same gun or not? I couldnt find a listing on internet for my serial number either. I called Colt and they said it was a 1972 model Serial number is G328XX Any info on gun would be appreciated. I am only a few months into collecting Colts.VINTAGE COLT SCOUT REVOLVER .22 L.R. & MAG.#39 & ORIG.INSTRUCTIONS & BOX-RARE ! | eBay

colt1.jpg

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I am new to Colt Forum. Not sure if I was clear, the gun is mine and the link is to the box on ebay

·
Banned
7,709 Posts
Wilkerson's book "Scouts Peacemakers and New Frontiers" is an accurate resource for these revolvers. He states on PG 169 " The first shipping cartons used in the G series revolvers were of two piece cardboard construction. The top was covered with a tan leather-grain paper; the bottom was covered with white paper." "Carton was placed inside a slip case made of plain cardboard. The serial number of the revolver was printed on the end label of the carton". Your end label would have: "Colt's New Frontier 22" . Spaces provided for Model Number, Serial Number, Option (dual cylinder), Barrel Length, Finish, Invoice Number and Date". In 1974 a different carton was introduced. Hope this helps :)

·
Premium Member
7,486 Posts