Colt Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently acquired a Colt 1911 which appears to be a 1978 , Series 70 , production .

The serial # is 880xxG70 . It has the collett barrel bushing .

I don't believe the sights are original , I'm not sure . I've attached photos of the frt and rr sight if someone can I D them .

Also I don't know if it's a refinish or not . Seems to be very little wear , even on the slide channels .

It came w the faux pearls and some plain wood checkered grips . I believe the original wood grips for this gun had diamonds ?

I broke it down and gave it a clean and lube job .

Maybe I am missing something , but getting the collett bushing back in along w the guide rod spring/cap was a pain . Could use 3 hands .

I have a Wilson Combat tool that I use on my Smith 1911 and it didn't seem to fit the Colt as well . Chewed a few very small slivers of the plastic off .

Maybe I'm just a klutz .

I'm def looking forward to shooting this . I've heard the pro/con on the collett bushing , so I'm eager to determine accuracy for myself .

I'm not a long time 1911 guy ( could you tell ? ) but I do love shooting my S&W 1911 . Very , very accurate gun .

Thanks for any insight / comments .

Regards ,
George

Wood Firearm Gun Trigger Gun accessory Gun barrel Firearm Gun Trigger Gun accessory Gun barrel Gun Firearm Trigger Revolver Starting pistol

·
Registered
8,177 Posts
Neither is the trigger or the mainspring housing.

The proper way to turn the collet bushing during disassembling and assembling is to retract the slide about 1/4 -3/8 of an inch to relieve to pressure on the collet fingures. Using a barrel bushing wrench will eventually crack the bushing.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Neither is the trigger or the mainspring housing.