Colt Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Aquired what I believe to be a Colt Thunderer .41 Cal Double Action Revolver today and be a complete novice in these type of revolvers I was wondering if I could get some help on a few questions I have about it. First it has the markings of "COLT'S PT FA MFG CO" "HARTFORD CT USA" in two seperate lines on the top of the barrel, the markings "PAT SEPT 18, 1871" "PAT SEPT 15 1874" "PAT JAN 19 1876" in three seperate lines on the left side of the frame below the cylinder, the markings "COLT DA 41" on the left side of the barrel, the markings "41 CAL" on the left rear side of the trigger guard, the matching serial number "23XXX" on the bottom side of the frame, in front of the trigger guard, on the front of the trigger guard frame and the bottom front of the butt and the number "401" on the inside of the loading gate. The mechanics works fine on this revolver both in single and double action locking up tight. Bore and cylinders are good with good rifling. Finish is thin that has turned to a good honest aged patina color. Has early checkered rosewood grips and german silver halfmoon front site?

My first question would be what would this revolver actually be called? Second when was it manufactured? Third what would it be worth in its current condition? Fourth would it be worth while to get this lettered from colt? Fifth are there any other areas that should have the matching serial number on it? And of course please feel free to add anything else that may be of importance to this revolver. I have added a few photos for viewing to help in these questions and thanks in advance with any and all help on this item! Winchester66

·
Registered
10,521 Posts