Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a beat up 1968 colt agent./cobra. Timing great work mechanically fine, she has just seen better days. It’s a home defense piece for the wife. I was looking at it yesterday and we were discussing her EDC. I was thinking about bobbing the hammer and shortening the ejector rod. I figured I could chop the hammer easy enough, preventing snags. What about the rod. How hard would it be to retread the end of the rod? Does anyone know what thread size, I would imagine this could be achieved with a simple vice and die.

Attachments

·
Registered
9,134 Posts
I'm no expert by any means...and this is only from what I've read in the past (possibly from others who heard it somewhere)...but bobbing a leaf spring Colt revolver's hammer can result in misfires if the mainspring tension isn't increased. Supposedly the Colt action requires a minimum amount of hammer momentum to reliably ignite primers and bobbing the hammer and reducing its weight lessens momentum. Factory bobbed guns are adjusted accordingly.

While a bit off subject I believe that's at least part of why the new Python has had problems with certain brands of ammunition with thick primers. Colt reduced the trigger arc and with a lighter tension spring they made for a marvelous trigger pull but once the problems became apparent they came up with a slightly higher tension mainspring.

If I'm not correct hopefully someone can correct me.

Personally...I think your Agent is fine the way it is...it's fully up to the intended purpose as-is. I wouldn't change a thing other than stocks if something else suited me better.

·
Registered
7,208 Posts
If I'm not mistaken your ejector rod has the wrong tip on it. Look on eBay replacements are available.
If you replace the tip you will realize there is no reason to shorten the ejector rod, it was lengthened for a reason.
I'm not convinced bobbing the hammer is necessary either.