Colt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
343 Posts
It looks like someone peened the heck out of the trigger guard. Better photos in good light are needed. Show all of the markings in clear, large, non-grainy photos

·
Registered
223 Posts
Welcome to the Colt forum from Pa . Is this your first Colt ?
If you're going to take more pics please include one of the letter also .
IMO artillerys are highly desirable . This often leads to fakery in a lot of models . Good clear pics of all the markings on the gun plus any letters or information you have are a must . Hope to see some soon .
Regards ,
Kal

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
here are more photos I am not very good with photos I will try to post the letter latter serial is 94581

Attachments

·
Premium Member
18,994 Posts
Welcome to the Colt Forum! That looks like a Military SAA that has seen a lot of use. On the forum we see some that are all original but mostly the ones we see are heavily modified with parts that have been salvaged from other SAA's. Your barrel appears to be about 5" in length. The Artillery Model had a 5-1/2" barrel.

·
Premium Member
18,994 Posts
Mike, I may have just been looking at the picture from the wrong angle. I hope it is 5-1/2".
The damage to the TG is unusual.

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
Reading the letter its plain to see why we don't stress a 100.00-150.00 factory letter on a US gun. Doesn't tell you much. We usually like to see hi res well lit pics of serial numbers and various factory and inspector stampings. Looks like a real but somewhat unremarkable artillery model SAA. Call colt and have them check for a 2nd shipping address after the artillery conversion. Its not a Rough rider gun but many were used in Cuba and Philippines which makes them more interesting.
What are the other visible serials and inspectors initials?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #11