Colt Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
Just found my Grandfather's revolver in a shoebox in aunts basement. Looks to be in good condition considering. Just looking for information about the gun since I have very little knowledge. I've been told it is possibly a 1892 martial model of Colt New Army New Navy that has been altered.
What I know:
k 3446 stamped on frame.
Also found silver bullets labeled RP 38 SPL with the gun. Are these the correct bullets for the gun?
What is the value? My plans are to keep the gun for sentimental reasons. One of the grips has a chip. Are there replacements out there?
Thanks
Henry Firearm Gun Revolver Trigger Gun accessory Gun Hand Trigger Air gun Gun barrel Hand Bottle Finger Thumb Gun Hand Revolver Action figure Thumb Revolver Gun Starting pistol Trigger Airsoft gun

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
RP 38 SPL denotes Remington / Peters .38 Special cartridge. No front sight on barrel. Grips are some nicely aged ivory, you may be able to find some new / old replacements but you won't like the cost. Appears in decent shape except for the front sight issue. The real value is in the sentimental value.

·
Premium Member
6,209 Posts
The gun has been refinished and I believe the barrel has been cut, that is why it has no front sight. The correct ammunition is 38 long Colt, which is harder to find and more expensive than common 38 special. Some have fired standard 38 special ammunition in these with no issues but it is loaded to higher pressure than 38 long colt. The best 38 special ammunition that works is 38 match hollowbase wadcutter ammunition, which is not loaded to as high of pressure than other 38 ammo. If the gun locks up correctly, it is probably save to shoot.

As stated, its value is best by what it means to you. The ivory stocks are worth more than the gun as they appear to be original colt.

·
Registered
7,382 Posts