Colt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up this in Tulsa last year, it was sold to me as 'antique' SN: 16329. I'm pretty sure that this gun is later that that but I would just like to clarify as this would make it C&RA few things about these early colts has got me confused regarding caliber. I know that the New Pockets were generally .32 short/long colt (as is this one) - Is it possible to find the 'Colt New Police' or the 'Pocket Positive in just this caliber? The majority out there seem to be .32 colt police aka .32 S&W. I'm looking to extend my collection!

Attachments

·
Registered
5,851 Posts
danSW,

You are correct, it is not an antique according to "proofhouse.com". It was manufactured in 1901 so it is a C&R revolver. I can't help with your question on the .32 Colt Police caliber since I am still learning about the Colt Revolvers.

I have a Colt New Police, S/N 18609 which was manufactured in 1902. My barrel is marked Colt D.A. 32. Here is a photo of mine.

7_ Bolt Replaced_Reassembled.jpg

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That one's in pretty good shape! I'm looking to buy another soon and want to make sure that it is pre-1899 for ease of transport. I sold the one I posted above, regret it

·
Registered
5,851 Posts
danSW,

When I bought mine, the Bolt Spring was broken, but in excellent condition. I got another Bolt from "coltparts" and when I installed it, it fit perfectly! I just love the feel of this little revolver. If not for messing it up, I would like to carry this one, LOL! Here is a photo of the inside of the revolver showing the broken Spring. All the crud you see is old dried grease. Once I cleaned it good, it was perfect inside.

5_ Hammer Removed.jpg

·
Premium Member
519 Posts