Colt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi there: I just bought a pistol that was sold as a Detective Special. I checked the serial number out (178XXX) and it listed 2 possibilities: 1) "1919 Police Positive Special"; or, 2) "1928 Police Positive .38 Caliber (not .38 Special 1-1/4" Cylinder Length)." The gun appears to have been reblued at some point. I don't believe the Seller was aware of all this and I don't believe I was taken ($400 out the door), so I'm not upset. I'd just like to know if you have any ideas what I've actually got here and who might have put it together. I'm rather new at this and I don't know much about either pistol (Police Positive or Detective Special). BTW, the barrel text reads ".38 Detective Special." Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

. DS.2.jpg DS.1.jpg DS.4.jpg DS.5.jpg

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
It's hard to positively tell from photos taken at angles, but it looks like a Police Positive (the 1928 one) with a Detective Special barrel. A good straight side view would help in verifying what it ts.

Reactions: Absalom

·
Premium Member
3,071 Posts
I believe some of the first DS actually letter as PPS. They are highly sought after, this may be one. I never collected D frames so I don’t know for sure. Cam or Russ will be along soon to tell you exactly what you have.

Reactions: krag96

·
Premium Member
3,369 Posts
My first thought was that you might have one of the "Pre-Detective Specials" but your serial number is WAY too early. Most of the models I've seen are in the 336xxx to 345xxx range. You most likely have a very early Police Positive Special or Police Positive frame with a early Detective Special barrel (with no address line on the right side of the barrel).

Reactions: krag96

·
Premium Member
1,703 Posts