Colt Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought this Detective Special last evening and I was wanting to know a little about it. It was a sample and display revolver with a low serial number, kept by the Colt Factory and sold at the Greg Martin Auctions in 2009. The serial number is RD0002.

I was wondering if anyone had the Greg Martin auction catalog that would show this gun and the listing information on this DS.

Thanks

John

Sorry about the poor pictures

Attachments

·
Registered
3,392 Posts
Great find and congrats. You might look up contacting the Auction site and see if they have the info archived.Chances are they probably do....Best of luck.....Mike

·
Registered
6,466 Posts
I would think that the rd may stand for research and developement since it was most likely a pre production revolver? Just a guess as I am not an expert but is logical which is why I am most likely wrong lol

·
Registered
907 Posts
Forum member Buckspen made a spreadsheet on this auction. It shows your gun as a "standard model" with no additional comments that sold for a hammer price of $900 on 01/18/2009.

·
Premium Member
4,495 Posts
Happy to do it, John. I'll send a copy to anyone who asks. There were some terrific guns sold in those auctions and we will probably never see the like again.

- - - -Buckspen

·
Premium Member
6,209 Posts
It appears the gun was maybe a pre-production gun of the series that was re-introduced in 1993. It has all the features of the production run. In fact the only difference with it and the last production DS of 1986 being the Colt/Pachamyr stocks instead of the checkered wood that was used on the 1986 and earlier detective specials.

·
Premium Member
12,527 Posts
Great looking gun John!

I bought a Colt Officer's ACP Commencement Issue Special Edition with serial #FA00001. It was originally sold through the Greg Martin Auction as well.