Colt Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Colt DA revolvers so I would appreciate any opinions on the Trooper MK III.
Do you own one.
How does it compare to other Colts or S&Ws?
Would you recommend a Trooper MK III or should I look at another Colt model?
What to look out for in used Trooper & Colt revolvers. (I know how to check timing)

I have been a S&W guy for some time but have always admired Colt revolvers. Unfortunately the Python is out of my budget at this point in time.

------------------
Mike

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,912 Posts
In 1969 Colt realized that the guns with the original action could no longer be made at a price that could compete in the market.
The older guns required extensive hand fitting even on the "budget" guns like the Official Police.
In 1969 Colt discontinued all the older mid-size frame guns except the Python.

The replacement was the Colt "J" frame series which were the Trooper Mark III, Lawman, Metropolitan Police, Official Police Mark III, and a very few Officer's Model Match Mark III's.

The "J" frame set several "firsts" in the gun business: It was the first gun to use stainless steel springs, "sintered" steel powdered steel parts, and the transfer bar action.
The Colt transfer bar action was so advanced that virtually every revolver designed since uses an almost exact copy of Colt's design.

One area also copied by everybody else was Colt's "no fit" parts design. Older Colt's could have many parts re-fitted and adjusted when they wore.
The new "J" frame used parts that required little or no hand fitting, and this allowed the gun to be made much faster and cheaper.

The parts in the action are mostly molded from "sintered" steel, where powdered steel is injected into a mold and heated. When the part comes out of the mold, other than hardening and bluing, it's virtually finished.