Colt Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a Woodsman Match Target Series 3 with a 4.5 inch barrel. The gun is in great condition and I intend to shoot it. My question is: are there any parts on this gun that are likely to need replacement? If so, I would like to be on he look out for them before they are needed.

Thanks,
Yakman

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
I am sure others will come along and answer the question but you might consider a PM to colt22dotcom or his website colt22.com. He is the expert here that I turn to for Woodsman questions. flanman

·
Registered
100 Posts
I am not an expert but I do own three Colt Woodsman pistols. One is a second series with
a side release for the magazine. The other two are third series with the bottom magazine release on the heel of the grip.

What I have been told is that the third series, with the magazine release on the bottom, is prone to breakage, either the spring or latch itself.

I do not know if this is true because I have never had one break on mine.

Other than that you can count on a lifetime plus of shooting with your woodsman.

al

·
Premium Member
1,579 Posts
The one part I get the most requests for is the slide stop spring. It is prone to breakage, and also prone to dropping out and disappearing into the carpet when the gun is disassembled. Fortunately they are cheap and readily available.

The bottom magazine catch on the postwar Woodsman is not prone to breakage. I believe Alster is thinking of the bottom magazine catch used on the Challenger, and on the early Huntsman and Targetsman. It is a very poor design, and often breaks. Original replacements are nearly impossible to find (I ran out long ago) but I believe Numrich sells reproductions. Wisners can make them for you but it might be a long wait.