Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
i am new to Colt Forum and trying to solve a mystery. I've had a Colt 1911 locked away for the past 30 years that has all of the appropriate inspector's stamps on the frame, barrel, and slide as well as the Army Inspector of Ordnance, Major Gilbert H. Stewart's, stamp on the frame above the magazine release. Stewart was the armory inspector from 1914 to 1918. The strange part is that there are no serial numbers on the frame and no "property of te United States Government". The gun is in very good condition and there is absolutely no evidence of any alteration or removal of the serial numbers and property stamp. The frame has internal inspector's stamps like the "H" and "G" on the top deck of the frame and a "7" and a "1" on the frame's well but the locations for the serial numbers and the Property of U.S. Govt. are as smooth as the rest of the exterior of the frame with no sanding or scratch marks at all. It doesn't look like they were ever rolled at all. I am looking for your collective wisdom on whether there were circumstances during this period when complete colt pistols or frames were ever received by the armory without serial numbers. I've heard differing opinions on this from a few authorities over the years but any input you have would be greatly appreciated. Trying to contact anyone at Colt, let alone the archivist, has been impossible these days.
Thanks,
Sheepdog

·
Registered
2,263 Posts
Sorry, but no chance the pistol didn't have a USP and serial number. How would you expect the manufacturer to bill for a pistol without a serial number? How would the military track the pistol for purposes of issue and maintenance without a serial number? Just because you seen no signs of the markings being removed doesn't mean an experienced collector wouldn't see those signs. And...if your pistol shows no signs of markings being removed, it's been refinished, too.