Colt Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I've formulated an opinion. I'm a novice shooter, school bus driver, and professional local musician. But I hit the range twice a month, love shooting, and know I'm learning.
Here goes...
I've had my Umarex Colt M4 22lr for 4 months now. Every time I take it to the range I run about 1500 rounds through it. Sometimes 2000. Yup, I buy cheap ammo in bulk. Opinions about that too, but first the gun. IF YOU'VE GOT PERFORMANCE PROBLEMS WITH THIS GUN, READ THE MANUAL, AND ADJUST THE DAMN BOLT SPRING. "high velocity rounds" 1200fps or so, require about 10 tightening turns on the bolt spring. No more, or the sound of the cycling gets annoying and you'll probably hurt the gun.
This gun (some of you don't want to call it that, but yes, it's a gun) is FUN to shoot. It's accurate too. Now, no, it's not a real AR. Looks like one, feels like one, takes exterior AR rail parts and such, but it's a blowback 22. Cleaning this gun is A BITCH. The action is where it hurts. Getting in there is tough! First I coat a brass brush with #9 and scrub. Then to really get in there I use a toothbrush. Then I bust out the dental pics. I use #9, dental pics, q tips, and have recently switched gun oil for WD40, so far with no problems. But I use my guns often. If I were to use them less frequently, heavier oil would be on my grocery list.
This gun disassembles easily. You need a wrench, which comes with it. On mine, the pins just push out with good finger force. (not loose, not tight, just enough to require a solid poke to pop the bearing). I've heard that some are loose, some are tight. Mine's in the middle I guess.