Colt Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
807 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Combat Commander(Series 80, \"Stainless\")reliability & Quality?

Colt, Combat Commander(Series- 80,"Stainless")made in 1984, questions as follows:

1)Were these still made with fairly good quality and fitment-and, were these still reliable?

2)Since this would be my very first centerfire autoloader, would the Series 80(Stainless)Combat Commander, be OK in .45 ACP caliber-or, would the "Kick" be too unpleasant, for a beginner, like me?

3)I know about the firing pin safety-but, I'm not a professional target shooter-so, I'm not going to be concerned with trying to obtain a 4lbs or less trigger pull! So, my assumption is that I don't think that(Compared to a Series 70, Combat Commander)that I would notice the slightly extra drag, caused from the additional safety device on the Series 80, Combat Commander? My concern, is for the gun to be safe and to be a good gun and for it to be reliable? Otherwise, are these guns any good? Or was the Colt's quality on these much more "Inferior" to the Series 70, Combat Commander-or?

·
Registered
117 Posts
Re: Combat Commander(Series 80, \"Stainless\")reliability & Quality?

Just like any manufacturer nowadays, quality will vary pistol to pistol. Check the individual piece for fit and finish.

The FPS doesn't make any noticable difference in pull. At least to me.

If it's a steel frame Combat Commander, recoil ain't bad at all. The Lightweight Commander is a little less manageable.

Good luck.

Brian

·
Registered
807 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

I sure would like to get some more input regarding my thread here?