Colt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to the gun world but I saying goodbye to my Ruger LCP .380 and am looking at
the above. So if any one has experience with the Colt Defender 9mm and the Sig Sauer .380 P 238
I would be greatful for any info.

houser49

·
Registered
17 Posts
Totally different guns. Not fair to compare them. The LCP is a pocket gun the Defender is not. Now if you have cargo pants/shorts on it can be but most of us on here I think are blue jeans type people. I carry a LCP during the day at work in my back pocket. I carry my .45 defender at night when the wife and I go to the show or dinner and I wear a outer shirt as a cover. They both have a place and one can not replace the other. JMO...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the info. I am considering taking the LCP out of the equation totally. Going a little larger with either the Defender or the Sig P238. Any thoughts on comparing those two???

·
Premium Member
9,519 Posts
Apples and oranges. A large gun chambered in .380ACP makes no sense to me. A large gun of limited magazine capacity chambered in 9x19 likewise does not make sense for concealed carry. There are many 9x19 guns that are as small or smaller than the SIG, and offer a lot more power and magazine capacity. There are many 9x19 guns smaller than the Defender that offer more magazine capacity and less weight. The Kel-Tec P11 is my personal carry piece in that size and power category. It holds 10 + 1 and weighs about a pound loaded.

Why do you find the LCP inadequate now? It would seem that the LCP would almost always be concealable, whereas anything bigger would not be under many circumstances. The "first rule" is to have a gun.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
JudgeColt: At my age I am getting into full blown arthritis. The LCP I just cannot hold on to. The Sig P238 is
not very large but it gives me some heft. Not sure about it either.