Colt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Colt fans,

I recently cleaned my, what I thought almost NIB Colt Peacekeeper. What I did saw was the fact that the crane”rod” seems to be somewhat bent… Not much but. See the two photo’s.

But I’m not a Colt expert so my question to the Colt experts if this is normal? If not what could have cause this?

Thanks in advance.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,913 Posts
Optical illusion?

The true test is to have the crane alignment checked.

If' it's locking up properly and passes the crane alignment test, it's OK.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
[ QUOTE ]
Optical illusion?

[/ QUOTE ] I hope so!

Lockup however is perfect.By the way how can I check the crane alignment? The primers for instance show a clean hit approximately in the middle.

I did ask this question because the "rod" on the crane of my S&W 686 is straight.

Thanks.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,913 Posts
The "exact" test is to use a special "thimble gage" that fits onto the end of the disassembled crane assembly.

With the cylinder off the crane, and the action disassembled, the gage is slipped over the end of the crane and it's closed.
The gage should freely enter the locking bolt hole in the front face of the frame with no resistance.

A simple test, if you don't have the gage, is to simply close the cylinder on all six chambers one at a time.

If the latch locks fully into the ejector with no assistance on each chamber, the crane is likely in alignment.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,913 Posts
I have no idea where you'd get one today.

You could have a machine shop make you one, since all it really is is a cylinder that fits snugly over the end of the crane shaft, with a smaller end that will be a snug fit in the cylinder latch hole.
After disassembling the cylinder and frame, you slip the "thimble gage" over the end of the crane shaft, close the crane, then slide the gage to the rear.