Colt Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Evening all. Just found this forum and thought I'd ask a question. Just ran across a Detective Special, .38 Special, blue, 2"bbl in VG+ to EX condition. Serial number puts it at around 1959/60. I have no experience with the DS. What's a fair price for something as I've described and what are the pros and cons if any of this particular model? Can they be used with +P ammo? Haven't had a Colt revolver since about 1984 when I sold my very first hangun a nickle plated, .357 Trooper MKIII to finance a new Series 80 GM. Still have the GM but miss the MKIII. All opinions and advise will be greatly appreciated TIA.

·
The Searcher
11,097 Posts
Welcome to the forum. +P would not be recommended. Pros of course are 6 shots and compact size. I would check the timing and, if it's been shot some, the end shake. Problems with either are not DIY repairs unless the action is just in need of cleaning. There are some posts on both topics. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
A1A Why wouldn't +P ammo be recommended??? The D.S. is a steel frame gun,and was catalogued as being suitable for the 38/44 load,a helluva lot hotter than the +Ps being sold today.

Not a steady diet of +P's mind you,but besides 6 vs. 5 shots,the D.S. had the advantage of being more rugged for +Ps than the steel framed J Framed Smiths like the M-36 or the M-49.

Bud /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
As early as the introduction of the 38/44 load,circa 1930.Colt listed their .38 Specials-ALL as able to use it- However-even a lover of magnum level loads,like Elmer Keith,said that he'd seen E framed Officers Models,shot loose quickly by a steady diet of 38.44 loadings-quickly. We are talking 158 gr.at 1200 fps in the classic 38/44 loading!! Thats as hot as todays factory .357 loads with 158 grs.

A D frame would probably recoil outta control