Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,776 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was 6 years old in 1953. My mom took me to the movies to see “Shane”. He had a shiny nickel Colt .45 and knew how to use it. Named Walter Jack Palance, back then, the bad guy, had twin sixguns.

But Shane said that only one was all you really needed. I was SO hooked.

I recall his saying, “A gun is a tool, Marian; no better or no worse than any other tool; an axe, a shovel or anything. A gun is as good or as bad as the man using it. Remember that.” I did.

This may be the first time I realized my love for the Colt brand. How about you – when was it?

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
My love for Colts started in late 89 when I started shooting revolvers.I wanted a Pythom SOOOO BAD but it was always out of my price range. When a 4 inch Peacekeeper landed at my friends gun store it was love at first sight.Thanks to it being a "Strike Baby" the black matte finsh turned off potential buyers and the price got to a point where it became mine.....A great day indeed.

·
Registered
2,147 Posts
I was 8 years old in 1953; it was all of those old westerns we used to go to see. Back in those days it was safe for a couple of 8 year olds to walk to the Saturday Matinee without their parents. I think I liked the pre movie serial, Commando Cody (Sky Marshal of the Universe), as much as the movie, but I never started collecting those Ray Guns!!!! :D

·
Registered
4,007 Posts
when I was a kid about 10 yrs old a Christmas present from an uncle was a toy colt revolving rifle that had miniature brass cases that shot plastic bullets. that might be what sent me down the colt road. :cool:

·
Registered
3,580 Posts
when I was a kid about 10 yrs old a Christmas present from an uncle was a toy colt revolving rifle that had miniature brass cases that shot plastic bullets. that might be what sent me down the colt road. :cool: