Colt Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
962 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Requesting information. I found a shop that has a blue 6" Python with "A" factory engraving and the Colt leatherette Custom Shop hinged case. I have not checked serial number, but I'm judging it to be a late 70's/early 80's gun.

My question is - what would one expect to come with this gun besides the leathertte case? Should there be a sleeve/styrofoam liner and the regular papers/booklets? If that is missing, how does this affect value?

As far as value goes, I have no experience buying engraved guns and almost no experience trying to gauge what they "should" sell for. But, watching the auction sites and seeing contemporary Pythons sell, I feel confident that the asking price is very reasonable. Anyone care to share their opinions on what such a piece would sell for?

·
Registered
4,648 Posts
Number one question I have is how do we know it's FACTORY engraved ? Do they have a Letter/paperwork from Colt ?
This will make or break the amount of value the gun has.
2nd question, if yes, you do have a factory Colt letter, who do they say did the engraving ?
This could help.
If it's mint unfired Colt factory engraved with Colt letter, the number could be in the thousands. It also depends on which factory engraver did the work.
If it's an unknown non-factory engraver, and the reblue is NOT factory, you're value would be a wild guess, as not many people want something like that. (At least true Colt collectors).
They would rather have an untouched, unfired, factory Blued gun. So, it's up to individual tastes on what someone would be willing to pay.
FYI, I think factory engraving started around $1000 and went up depending on who did the engraving and how much engraving was done.
So, with that in mind, you would have had to pay at todays Python costs around $2000 to have one done in factory "A" engraving.
Don't quote me on that, and feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.