Colt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a New Colt 45 SAA model P1870. I'm new to these guns, so please excuse my ignorance. Upon inspecting the gun and practicing loading with snap caps, I noticed with the hammer in the full cocked position, the firing pin slightly "jiggles" in the hammer. Is this normal? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
809 Posts
Yes it is spring loaded and wiggles a little. The first generations were fixed. Not sure when the transition was to spring loaded.

·
Registered
809 Posts
Here are a couple of tips since you are new to single actions. Maybe you know them already. When loading insert one round then skip a chamber and then load 4 more. Pull the hammer all the way back and then let it down carefully. The empty chamber will now be under the hammer and safe to carry. Try it with your snap caps first.

Also to prevent a drag line around the cylinder when unloading it, do not lower the hammer by pulling it back a little to rotate the cylinder to align the notch for the bolt to catch. Always pull the hammer all the way back and then lower the hammer. Doing it this way will allow the bolt to drop in the cylinder notch properly and not before which causes the scratch.

Have fun shooting it, it's going to be hot this weekend.

·
Registered
2,974 Posts
Yes it is spring loaded and wiggles a little. The first generations were fixed. Not sure when the transition was to spring loaded.
The transition was in the late 50's,I can't remember exactly what year but I have 2 1959's in my collection both w/what was then referred to then as a "floating firing pin"

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6