Colt Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Forum Friend
5,858 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pre NOTE - I haven't seen this gun in 20+ years. Pix I requested from present owner, my Son-inlaw

I had to learn to engrave to do complete work on my client's 1600s to 1800s guns.

Brownell's James B. Meeks' book on Firearms Engraving in 1973, got me started. It is a great tutorial, well explained & illustrated. I studied it & learned to do all the details. Handicapped by hammer & chisel I bought a Gravermeister from Brownells. A couple of my best purchases ever. The Gravermeister is a tiny air hammer the drives your tool to cut your engraving -- but demands the same skills as any engraver needs in design layout, depth, width, etc., of tool management.

I did very little practice cutting once I had the idea down pat. Enthralled with engraving, my tools, anything clean enough might get some work. But this was/is about gun engraving ----

A Colt 1860 Army was the place to start. A restoration; metal well done, re-rolled cylinder but with its original distressed grips. Gun dealer's opinion 'foolish to f---up a good gun with amateur engraving' - to me a challenge. Nimschke's book of engraving designs, with utmost care I copied Nimschke's patterns on to the gun, small area at a time, cut exactly as possible per Meeks' instruction - then heat blued it the kitchen oven. Not quite a Colt blue but with little distressing it looked believable. Its original beat-up grip was a big downer.

Luck, gun show find a 1860 grip, figured wood, like never been on a gun, for $25. Got home and found time had shrunk it 1/16" to fit the grip frame. A brainstorm told me it had shrunk from lost humidity. Wet paper towel stuffed in the grip frame slots, dried out, it fit.