Colt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new around here and I am also new to Colt revolvers.This looks like a very info-filled place and I look forward to hanging out here a bit and learning a thing or two!

I just "won" an auction on AA for an old DS. This is my first Colt revolver(I currently own alot of 'Smiths and one Colt 1908 .25acp) I am wondering if this revolver is a first or second edition and if the ejector rod is correct. I've seen only one other Detective Special with an ejector rod like it.Any input is greatly appreciated.

The link to the auction is here; http://www.auctionarms.com/Closed/DisplayItem.cfm?ItemNum=7050837.0

·
The Searcher
11,101 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Don't let 17 views and no responses bother you. Your question requires someone with a piece from that era, personal knowledge or vintage catalogs. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
There are members like that and I'm sure you will get answers. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,906 Posts
Your Colt is a "probably" Second model.
This a post-War Colt DS recognizable by the ramped rear face of the front sight.

A lot of this depends on what you consider a second model.
For most people the Second model is the model with the short, "stubby" grip frame and with the grips overlapping on the bottom.

A serial number check will tell for sure.
See: http://proofhouse.com/colt/

I'm NOT sure, but the ejector rod head doesn't look like a factory rod head.
Looks like a non-factory addition.

·
The Searcher
11,101 Posts
If it serials as a first issue (Blue Book definition,pre 1947) it appears that the rod end could be original. At least I see another first issue with one like that. Then again, it could have been a common replacement. A catalog collector would still be handy. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif