Colt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is Brad Kennon, SEE PHOTOS ATTACHED

My grandfather had this gun made for himself in 1938. Colt firearms company Hartford Conn. It is a single action .38 special on a .45 frame. The handles are Pearl grips with two gold coins, one of the coins Is a 1914 Indian gold piece. a long horn steer is on the grip between the two coins. His name is engraved on the bottom of the handle. In cursive S.H. Monroe. The gun is engraved, a class "C" piece of work.

My grandfather and I were very close. The story goes that he lost this gun in a card game. If anyone has seen this gun or has a suggestion on how I can find this gun. I am new to this sight so just email me at [email protected].

Many thanks Brad
Photos attached

Attachments

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
well hello and welcome to the forum...great to have u with us....well does he have the serial number available?....God Bless,John

Reactions: krag96

·
Registered
6,550 Posts
Welcome,

Good luck with your search but you will need more than luck to repatriate your grandfather's Colt. That is an extremely rare and valuable Colt. First, pre-war .38 specials are all but unheard of with only 25 being made. The gun is master level engraved and nickel (or silver) plated with carved pearl stocks. We will need a serial number and you should get Mitch, our administrator, to move this thread to the Single Action sub-forum.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·