Colt Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a police chief in East Texas with 35 years on the job. I don't collect guns because I want to shoot everything I own. I amaze my officers because I carry a Colt OP that was made in 1950.....the same year I was born....and use a 3" Chief Special as a backup gun. In this age of Tupperware automatics and officers carrying 300 rounds on their belt I keep telling them you only need one round if you place it right....Of course they all think I am a Jurassic Cop:eek:... I did recently bow to progress and bought a set of Python faux aged ivory grips for my OP and will keep the original grips also. I also have a 1919 model 1911 that I keep in my desk for disgruntled customers...;)

This is a great forum with a lot of helpful people on it. I am happy I joined it.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Welcome to the forum from another Texan!

·
Registered
3,582 Posts
Welcome to the Forum, Chief! I'll take a "Jurassic Cop" every time over some of the hotshots you describe carrying "Tupperware automatics" and packing "300 rounds." Here in rural Ohio we thankfully still have a few Chiefs like you to keep in line some of the more Gestapo-like young bobbies carrying those "Plastic Fantastic" guns. Enjoy the ride and thanx for joining!

·
Banned
7,709 Posts
Welcome from West Texas though I did live in East Texas a spell :) Um has that warrant expired yet ? :) Great forum here so please enjoy and jump right in.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Howdy Jefe, from a former Texas officer (La Porte PD) now retired to God's Country (our East Texas). Seems like we have a lot in common....both Texans, both born in '50, both with over 35 years LE experience and both admire classic revolvers.
I'm sure (to quote the great Bill Jordan) "You'll do to ride the river with."

·
Registered
113 Posts
Welcome from southeast Texas.

·
Registered
758 Posts