Colt Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I acquired this 1851 Navy about a year ago and I'd really like your input! I have vast modern firearms knowledge, but going back I get lost somewhere around WWII...so I need your help!! Let me know what you think. It looks like the trigger guard has been replaced (you'll notice the non matching serials) and there is currently a more modern cylinder in the gun, though the original is included. The lockup and timing is good with the newer cylinder, not so much with the original. The bore shows light pitting but overall decent shape. What would you say something like this is worth? Year of manufacture (I've turned up 1854 for the gun and 1863 for the trigger guard...no? yes?)? Any other information would be helpful. I'm a newbie here on the forum and I thought this would be a great way to get acquainted (and learn a few things as well)! :)

Here are all the pictures:
Colt 1851 Navy London Photos by gmawright88 | Photobucket

Attachments

·
Registered
12,832 Posts
Case is Modern.

Is the beat up Cylinder serialed to the Revolver? ( I do not remember if they were on these ).

The Revolver looks very nice...seems odd the Cylinder would be so full of dents and so on, so worn...makes me wonder if it really belongs to or with this Revolver.

Lovely old Colt!

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Beat up cylinder? Looks like scene to my weary old eyes - good scene.
Just a guess of course but maybe someone put a modern cylinder in it for shooting and had to alter the hand a mite - hence original out of timing?? Well worth getting it fixed if matching number cylinder.
Looks good with faded case colours and good blue remaining. If original finish it would be worth $2500 up here (probably much less in America) even with the mismatched trigger guard. London Colts are preferred by most local collectors for historical reasons.