Colt Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
767 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to you all.This is my first post on this magnificent forum.
I am Mel, a new member from Sweden.
Some years ago I bought a couple of Remington 1858 NMAs, saying this might be like cussing in church on this site ?!
Last fall, when contemplating under a "cork oak", I thought: Is it possible for a man to live a whole life without a Colt ? The answer was NO ! So I bought a Colt 1851 Navy, made in 1865, from Antiqueguns.com.
So, why percussion revolvers ? Since I was a youngster I have had a keen interest in the early Western frontier and the American Civil War. So to experience what they were shooting, I had to acquire some pistols from that era and all I can say is that I truly love the smell of sulphur, the booming and smoke while shooting.
I work as a tool and die maker, primarily Wire EDM machining and Spark-Erosion sinking and therefore used to small tolerances and to fiddle with different steel and tungsten carbide qualities and I have experienced that this is a great asset when dealing with both new and old weapons and other stuff of interest.
Other interests are: Hunting, Lever action rifles, Pre -65 Harley-Davidson motorcycles, American cars from the fifties and sixties, Drag racing and the Hooters that come along with the last mentioned.
Anyway, it is good to be here.
Greetings from Mel

·
Registered
3,564 Posts
Well, "Hey There" to you, too, Mel. It's always a treat to have another overseas Colt lover join us here. Sounds like you know your American history very well, better than many Americans I know. You would do very well here in the USA with your many American interests. Great to have you with us. Enjoy! ;)

·
Premium Member
767 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you guys for welcoming. I can see that you are all from south of the Mason-Dixon line. Any theories about that;)?