1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
3,846 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
2,458 Posts
Marc,There are more ?'s than answers on this one.I don't remember if all the SS serial numbers had a letter prefix but mine do.It leads me to believe that it might be an early nickel.It has so many things wrong with it that I'm not sure if I would give half of what he is asking.I wonder how he sleeps at night?:)D*PS did you find someone to fix the sight on your Magnum Carry?If you didn't and still want it fixed send me a closeup photo of the sight and I'll let you know if I can do it.

·
Registered
501 Posts
As a new guy can you kindly point out how to identify the reproduced tags and grips? I'm still learning so I'd appreciate knowing how to spot a fake.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Thanks a whole bunch for the heads up on what people are doing. I have learned that I will not buy expensive guns off of GB. I have seen one members name on the GB and maybe I'd buy from him or You, Keystonearms but for now I just cruise GB for junkers and parts. I would buy from the classifieds here on Colt Forum but YEEEssccch, there are opportunities to get taken out there. I am glad Dad has a 4 inch Python nickel that I defiled and the 6 inch Trooper MK III that I got as a parts gun for $250ish and fixed by reinstalling the hand spring with a ton of help from this forum! Jees I got talky there. I am going to be very careful when buying expensive guns such as pythons.:cool:

·
Registered
127 Posts
And with the cost of pythons, I think it would make sense to travel across 3 - 5 states to look at them in person at reputable dealers shops and then have them sent to my FFL holders shop. He likes seeing the guns I have sent to him any way!:cool:

·
Registered
3,200 Posts
71firebird400. Any yellow hang tag should have a yellow string. If the string is white, it's a fugazi(fake, repro, etc). The orange ones are harder as you need to see them closeup but they should have a white string.

·
Registered