Colt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,804 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
You may want to read this man’s assessment. ( I am just passing this along,so don’t burn me too badly). I’ve only
owned 3rd Gen guns ,so I have no knowledge of the other years. That being said I’ve had no disappointments from
the ones I own or have owned. Pete

Rectangle Font Number Paper Paper product

Reactions: 2horses

·
Registered
3,519 Posts
You may want to read this man’s assessment. ( I am just passing this along,so don’t burn me too badly). I’ve only
owned 3rd Gen guns ,so I have no knowledge of the other years. That being said I’ve had no disappointments from
the ones I own or have owned. Pete

View attachment 804454
Who is he?

·
Registered
4,203 Posts
The writing style reminds me of reading comprehension passages from high school and when I took the SAT exam. It’s very subjective.

This thread alone would make me question the workmanship of Third Generation Single Action Army revolvers.

In fact I owned a Third Generation Single Action Army revolver and it was somewhat uncommon, having a nickel finish, walnut grips with medallions, and in .38-40. But the fit around the “ears”, although not clearly as bad as some of the examples in the thread, if noted on a First Generation example, would have screamed refinished (rounded corners, poor arc of the ears, etc). That, as well as medallions that looked like they originated from the Dollar General, made me conclude that we really needed to part ways.

Now contrast this with the ears of a First Generation Artillery Model revolver:

Wood Wood stain Bicycle part Hardwood Tool
Hand Wood Water Finger Tool
Wood Sculpture Art Metal Auto part
Wood Pet supply Sculpture Hardwood Art

Now maybe fit and finish have improved over the years, but my particular example, dating from 1993, with regards to the quality of craftsmanship, would best be described as haphazard and reckless.

·
Registered
2,928 Posts