Colt Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a set of grips that were sold to me as being ivory or bone, and came off a Colt.
I've done tests to determine if they're ivory - they feel greasy, they're cold on my face, a hot needle will not penetrate (the needle broke). I think they're ivory.
Then I set out to see what Colt they belonged to. I'm a little backwards - most people get a gun and change the grips.
So far, they match up to a Colt Official Police but not the Colt Positive. I haven't tried an Officers Model yet.
Were these a common update on the Police models? Any info would be appreciated (ivory or not, age, value, etc).
Thanks.

·
Banned
7,709 Posts
As far as fit if they work on an Official Police then they'd fit any I/E frame such as the Officers Model(s), Trooper and Python. The Police Positive, Police Positive Special, Detective Special are all D frame. I'm not an ivory expert but they certainly appear old ivory. There is Mastadon ivory but I'm not familiar enough to tell the differences. Nice pickup in any event.

·
Registered
3,169 Posts
Looks like some genuine ivory to me. Most likely elephant.

You don't even have to wait for these ones to age either.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I bought them thinking they might fit one of my full framed percussion revolvers (Remington) but...nope. I live in MA so it might be tough to find a "compliant" Colt.
I talked to a shooter yesterday who once bought a gun to match a holster - that's a little more backwards than finding a gun to fit grips.
Thanks for the responses.

·
Premium Member
21,835 Posts