Colt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I'm new to the Colt and this forum. Please forgive my ignorance about the pistol and my attempt to link a picture.

I recently bought this pistol and I'm wondering about it's history and configuration.

The seller told me that this pistol was issued to his grandfather in WW1. He's a co-worker who knows less about guns than I do so I have no reason to doubt his story. The serial number is 558XXX so that seems to match a 1918 production from what I can tell. But, while doing more research, I discovered that it seems to have all the mods to make it an "A1" model.

Before buying, I had a friend who knows about modern 1911s look at it and he could find no evidence of official reworking acording to his copy of the blue book so I'm wondering if these mods could have been done privatly with spare parts or if some other explanation is possible.

Hopefully a picture of it is here
http://photos.yahoo.com/ph/spamit70/slideshow?.dir=%2Fbf33&.src=ph
Push the STOP button or you will be taken to another page after a few seconds.

I'd be happy to detail all stamp marks if that helps narrow down some history on this thing.

Also, I'm wondering if the record from Colt would be worth the effort. I can't find the website right now but I once found a site that offered some kind of record for a fee. I think it was an offical Colt site and the fee was either $20 or $100. Any opinions?

TIA

·
Premium Member
9,477 Posts
If the gun is military-marked, it is a Model 1911, not a Model 1911A1. The markings do not show in the fuzzy photograph. If it is military, it should be so marked on the slide, and the frame should have a "United States Property" stamp. If military, there should be an inspector's stamp above the magazine release.