Colt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys

I have been re-loading for ten years and now just decided to re-load for 45lc. i purchased Berrys 200 GR .452 SWC hard cast lead bullets. Here is my problem i think? My Hornady reloading data and i checked others say MAX COL is 1.595 so when i seat the projectile to achieve the max COL it pushes the projectile to what i think is too far. There is no meat left on the lead barely the crimp is at the upper most top of the bullet (see attached pics.) Ieven tested this with 45ACP cases and i am getting the same problem. I never loaded SWC before but i would think there would be some meat of the bullet left outside the case...i loaded 15 rounds but i am real nervouse about shooting these. Is it possible i got a bad batch... i think i will stick to jacketed copper bullets. 45lc1.jpg 45lc2.jpg 45lc3.jpg

·
Registered
2,919 Posts
Personally I wouldn't worry too much about the COL, and would just crimp about half way between the top of the lube grove and the shoulder. As long as it chambers, and allows cylinder rotation, you should be fine.

Best regards,

·
Registered
368 Posts
Well, to start with, that bullet is really not appropriate for .45 "Long" Colt (more correctly just ".45 Colt.") You didn't get a bad batch, you bought the wrong bullet. The 200gr LSWC is really designed for .45 ACP usage. The bullet you're using has no crimp groove for a roll crimp as is used on a revolver cartridge. If you want to use a 200 gr bullet in this chambering - which is really light, in any case - then you would need something like the 200 gr RNFP Berry's offering shown below.

In reality, the only thing governing maximum cartridge length in a revolver is that it allows the cylinder to rotate. COAL is more of an issue in self-feeding firearms, which have a more critical window of acceptable length in order to function properly.