Colt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the Pythons and now in the market for one. Want a shooter but don't want one beat all to hell or someone's Frankengun either!!!! I have a couple .I am looking at and prices vary!

Looking at this 1978. What is your first impressions? The Gentleman said that there are no scratches but a little holster wear on the muzzle. I would need to find stock grips..... Value??? One pic inside and the other outside!

Thanks

What year is the Python with cylinder open?

Attachments

·
Registered
23 Posts
Mine is also a 1978 and looks almost exactly like that except it comes with the Pachmayr grips. Also a bit of muzzle wear. The value is what you're willing to pay for it. Do you want something pristine with no wear? Then plan to pay a lil more. $1600 seems like a fair price.

·
Registered
645 Posts
Internet-wise, the better condition Pythons are selling for $2000 plus, and Pythons in "like new" condition, complete with box, lterature, and hang tag, etc, are selling north of $2500.
Unfired, complete packages will be north of $3000....of course, nickle finish guns, snub-nosed guns, special target guns, and the like may well be priced at a premium.
Local pricing and gun show pricing is generally better than internet.
Hope this helps! :cool:

·
Registered
4,841 Posts
I bought a stainless Python awhile ago. It had the same houge,monogrips as that one and it had the silver medallion like that one. I must say that those particular houge grips are probably the best there are for shooting. And they actually look pretty good on the python. I have original grips/stocks for mine also but I like the monogrips for shooting so i havent taken them off. I keep the originals so the gun can be all original. You may find that you will keep the houges on it as well.