Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

After seeing Yahoody's go at fitting a set of one piece grips my civilian H.N. stamped I recently picked up was in need of a new set.they were damaged after being under water in a flood for two weeks 50yrs ago.
This is my first attempt and im not much of a wood worker.
The blank is from Dave Lanara, and i have to say you would not find a better blank to work with, a few emails to dave showing the progress and his very helpfull advice on how to progress through the stages.
A couple of emails to Yahoody for some good advice also.
Firstly like Yahoody said, its not that hard, I think the most important advice to take on board, is be prepared to spend atleast 6-8 hrs first attempt, dont rush, you wont do it in 2 hrs, thats the mindset I had throughout.

Hear are the results, and a big thanks to Yahoody and Dave.

Attachments

·
Registered
8,800 Posts
Fine job Tony! Scary aint it ;) Next one will be a lot easier.

Now all you need to do is make up another pair, but first have a hammer, some big fence staples, a propane torch, some old time axle grease, may be some cow's blood all on hand to get the 2nd pair to match the finish on the fine old smoke pole ya got there! Those are some mighty fine grips you have there, Tony, well done :)

·
Premium Member
20,545 Posts
Tony, Good job!! As Yahoody indicated, some distressing of the grips would make them match the gun's condition much better. I do notice that you did not build in much of a 'flair' towards the bottom of the grips that one sees in factory grips. I have done quite a few sets in ivory for SAA's and I have not acquired the knack for getting that 'flair' in my grips either.

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Fine job Tony! Scary aint it ;) Next one will be a lot easier.