Colt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy there. I am very new to Cap and Ball shooting and could use some information. I have a pair of cabelas "51's" in 44 caliber with the brass frames. I am aware that they are not period correct in anyway, but so far they are fun to shoot. I had no idea that they would be this fun. That being said, I would like to upgrade to the real deal at some point. Now I know all about the Italian guns, but I only just became aware of the Colt 2nd generation guns (and 3rd?). What I would like to know is what models or versions would be a good gun to own and shoot? It won't be for any kind of collection, but rather to shoot as much as possible. Or are they way too valuable and should I stick with the Italians? I am of the mind that it's not worth owning a gun that I can't shoot, so any help folks can provide would be great. I'm looking forward to this new adventure.

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
I would refer you to the Darksider's Den at CAS City which is THE best forum on the Internet regarding your questions. They have lots of 'stickies' that answer your generic questions and countless threads in the archives that will answer any question you can possibly think of:

The Darksider's Den

·
Registered
5,274 Posts
I bought myself a 2nd Generation Colt 1851 last year, to shoot. But keep in mind that the parts are Italian. The fit and finish is what's better, not the hardness of the steel. I learned this the 3rd outing with mine, when I broke the hand spring. It's fixed again, and shooting fine. But it was a gunsmith visit, and learning who NOT to go to.

I do like the looks of the 1851 2nd Colts. But I'd say most quality replicas will shoot just as well, from Uberti or such. I've had them, they do fine.

·
Registered
503 Posts