Colt Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5,851 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
You guys were correct that after I recently got the 1904 SAA, that I would get hooked! Well, you were right; I got hooked.

I just purchased this 1902 and she is a beauty. Unfortunantly, I won't get it in my hot little hands until I get home for the Thanksgiving Holiday. The bad part is it has been refurbished! I am not a proponent of refurbishing any firearm just to make it look "nicer:, but this one was already done and I like the caliber. I was told it was a Turnbull restoration, but no documentation to back that up. I bought it as a "restored" revolver and paid for a restored piece! It is a 7 1/2" barrel, .32-20 caliber, and S/N 2323XX. It has a very nice set of real stag grips that set off the workmanship really nice.

I do have one question right now; the barrel has been replaced with a Colt barrel; it has the single line Colt address on the top, and on the left side, it has "Colt Single Action Army .32-20". I have been looking to determine if the new barrel is a 2nd Gen or probably a 3rd Gen barrel. What I am not sure of is did Colt manufacture the .32-20 in the 2nd Gen period. My goal is to try and determined when the refurbishment took place. Once I get my hands on the revolver, I may be able to determine more info.

I have two photos of the revolver and will post here.

Firearm Gun Revolver Trigger Gun accessory
Gun Revolver

·
Registered
5,851 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the information guys! I didn't think Colt made any .32-20 barrels during the 2nd Gen period. and I thought I remembered that the threads were changed for the 3rd Gen SAA. So it appears it is a pre-war late 1st Gen barrel. What made me "feel" it may have been an oddball 3rd Gen barrel was the use of the caliber; .32-20 vs the early 1900s SAA still showing .32WCF. I could not find when Colt made this caliber designation change.