Colt Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...deciding what to buy next.

I got my first Colt, a Combat Elite XSE in December. That seems like so long ago. I only love it more each time I shoot it.

I'm ready for another 1911 pistol and it's going to be another Colt. I have a few options:
  • Used Combat Commander - 899.00, holster wear but good condition, except for the white paint on the sights.
  • Used Mark IV Combat Government - 800.00, have not actually held this one yet but will tomorrow. Pictures make it look pretty good and a phone conversation described it as not shot much.
  • New M1991A1 Government Model, 749.00.
My search started for a Combat Commander, but I've encountered these two others, particularly the Mark IV. Pretty Slick gun. And a hundred bucks cheaper than the Commander.

Also, this is going to be a gun that I enhance over time e.g. new finish, new sights, combat tune, bobtail, etc. When all is said and done it will be my custom Colt.

I have no problem carrying a Govt. Model and do it every day so that is not really a factor in my decision.

So your opinions and advice are appreciated.

·
Registered
97 Posts
I vote Combat Commander too, I really enjoy my lightweight Commander from the 70's. I use it for qualifying for my CCW here in Arizona. Very accurate.

·
Registered
4,101 Posts
The commander is the goldielocks of 1911 pattern pistols. Not too big not too small it's "Just Right"

·
Registered
5,351 Posts
I vote for the Combat Commander.

·
Registered
470 Posts
Given the choices and all things being equal I would also favor the Combat Commander..

·
Premium Member
5,813 Posts