Colt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A local sporting goods chain has a New Service revolver on the shelf that appears to be unfired.

Unfortunately it has been there for better than a year and the employee(s) that remove it from the display case to put it in the vault every night haven't been too careful, it now has numerous small scratches and dings all over the barrel and upper edges of the frame from hitting the edges of the display case.

I'm thinking it's now more of a shooter than a collectable and they have recently reduced the price from $1000 to $850.

I have no real experience with the New Service revolvers, but I'm feeling that $850 is still too much for it, am I right?

Also, when was it made? It's a blue, 6", .45 Colt, with black rubber grips and a lanyard ring, serial number 1492xx.

Thanks much!

·
Registered
162 Posts
Well, someone else will get you the year. But I can tell you that my Colt Improved New Service in 45acp is one of the very best shooters I own. And it's tight as the day it was made.

The price on them has been steadily going up over the last few years. That seems strong but then there just aren't all that many of them out there.

------------------
I'm so worried about what's hapenin' today, in the middle east, you know.
And I'm worried about the baggage retrieval system they've got at Heathrow.
I'm so worried about the fashions today, I don't think they're good for your feet.
And I'm so worried about the shows on TV that sometimes they want to repeat.

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
That NS was made in 1918 of WWI vintage.
In my opinion that price is way low, if it is not dinged up too bad.

------------------
Dick

IN GOD WE TRUST,
BUT KEEP YOUR
SIDEARM HANDY!

·
Registered
81 Posts