Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an opportunity to aquire a 1978 (the owner volunteered this) blued 6" DB for about $950 here in California. I noted it had rubber grips and a blue two latch plastic box that looks like it was made for it. From the photos I've seen the finish looks good and the owner said he was the second owner and he said it hadn't been shot much. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Colts. Is this a fair price that's being asked? IMG_1907.jpg

·
Registered
3,145 Posts
That box is newer than 1978 and would have an outer white picture cardboard box. Grips are also wrong but price is a decent one.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Because of Labor Day being tomorrow I'll be getting it Tuesday if the inspection is good. Pictures tell a lot but not everything...
About what year did Colt start using those blue plastic cases?

·
Premium Member
3,285 Posts
Colt started with that case style with outer sleeve in 1990 and continued until sometime in late 1996. Box is not original to gun, but would bring $50 pretty fast by itself. Sounds like a great price on the DB, that is the only barrel length of the 3 different lengths made where the 38 is just as desirable (and scarcer) than the 22.

·
Registered
260 Posts
The Diamondback is a great revolver and I would buy it at that price. Be aware that if you want to find an original pair of wood stocks for it, it will be difficult and set you back $200 or so. I would sell off the non original box to help offset the cost of the stocks.

·
Banned
7,709 Posts
950 in CA isn't too bad I reckon. You will want to get the rubber off and put some wood shoes on her like so:

1978 Diamondback 4"

1978 Colt Diamondback (1024x575).jpg

·
Premium Member
3,285 Posts
Wow! About $200 for grips? Like I mentioned, I'm new to Colts and have a lot to learn apparently! :)