Colt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
Great wealth of info here and I hope to contribute some day but for now all I can do is read and learn.

Over the weekend a Colt Commando fell into my possession.
The gun is not for sale nor will it be but I do have some basic questions about it. But first, a little about my philosophy . . . . so you may understand where I'm coming from.
An old collector car should be driven. Not garaged 110% of its life. I understand the rare and invaluable car needs better care than what I would provide. So, with that basic concept in mind I want to do what is right for the Commando. Google and the Colt Forum has adequately informed me that she is a mid war firearm. She is in what I could call extremely nice condition. Feels like a new gun in my hands however I have no experience with these Commandos or Colts in general. I have played with warn revolvers and this Commando is NOT one of those.

All that said, I want to go shoot her! Standard plinking 38 special FMJ ammo. No +p or such. Would that give any heartburn to the experienced and knowledgable Colt owners for any reasons? If so, why?

I see Gun broker has two available for roughly 800 bucks. Is this an exceptionally high price for this type of gun or is it mid range? Low end?

Final goal for the gun: Pass it on in extremely good working condition to one of my children. This Colt was their great grandpas firearm. It was passed to grandpa and then to me. I suspect it may have not been shot in 40 years.

Again, is there any real reason NOT to use the firearm. Plinking only and not as the everyday plinker. Just occassionally shoot a few rounds. I have other firearms for play and personal defense.

Thanks in advance for any input!
Scott

·
Registered
3,256 Posts