Colt Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,
I'm new to wheel guns, and have just purchased a '49 Colt Officers Model Special in 38spl. I'm wondering what would be proper range ammo for this gun. I don't want to exceed it's intended pressures.

Suggestions?

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
Any off the shelf .38 Special cartridges will work with varying degrees of suitability for the task at hand.Some will be "defense" loads with whiz bang bullets going 10,000 fps,they are expensive and not necessary. I would use 148gr/158gr. lead bullets that I could find,lead will be nice to shoot and keep things in time for a long time, +P's in a target revolver I don't see the point.

·
Premium Member
6,582 Posts
5 or 6 years ago, Officers models didn't really spark much interest from the buying public since it appears that bullseye competition is dying out but all has changed since people are looking for good shooting Colts that don't have a Python price. While many of these guns were fired with mid-range wadcutters for match use, some of who I shoot with load a 158 to plus P levels for 100 yard 16" metal plate shooting. We are getting around 900-950 FPS and at that range one can here both the bang and "ting" when the target is hit. Mid-range wadcutters are just that, in that drop off very rapidly past 50 yards. Your officers model special has the heaviest barrel of all officers models and to myself is right at home with any load up to plus P if needed. Enjoy your gun.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Thanks for all the great comments. I'm in CA, and the gun is currently in "jail." I'm looking forward to many range trips with the OMS, might end up being a league gun!

I do have a question for LongRanger. How does shooting lead help the gun timing?? Or, did I misunderstand.

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
I do have a question for LongRanger. How does shooting lead help the gun timing?? Or, did I misunderstand.