Colt Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Don't know if any of the knowledgeable folks out in Colt land knows, but in McDowell's book on Colt conversions, he states that ALL 1860 Navy Richards-Mason conversions were blued at the factory. I have seen at least one on the internet that claims to be originally nickel plated and I own one that appears to have traces of nickle. Does anyone have any ideas?

·
Banned
1,129 Posts
well i am not an expert but during the percussion years up till about 1920 colt would build just about any thing you could afford. there were no gun laws and people wrote directly to the factory and placed orders for any thing they desired. in wilsons book "colt an american legend" a few original letters are shown including one from w.b. masterson as follows: "gents,you will please make and send here to my address c.o.d. one of your short .45 cal pistols nickle plated. make it very easy on the trigger and make front site extra high and thick.send as soon as possible" letter has a notation of shipment at bottom. must have been pretty nice back then. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Hi drbuster,
I checked my copy of Bruce's book but could not find any reference to a "1860 NAVY conversion". He talks about the 1860 ARMY Model and the 1861 NAVY Model, but no "1860 NAVY Model" that I could find. Can you give me a page reference????)

Bruce does say on Page 200 that "... the 1860 Richards-Mason conversions are found finished in both full nickel plating and blue with case hardened frames and hammers." I have seen many 1860 ARMY Models with nickel finishes... FYI. Bob Best

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·