Colt Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a line on a 1950 Colt Officers Match, in .38 special, at what seems to be a fair price, going to go see it tomorrow. For falling plates matches, assuming good mechanical condition, and good bore, would this be a good choice, or should I keep looking, and if so, for what? (The one revolver shooter at our club matches is a confirmed S&W guy, so I know what he would say.) Looking for a shooter, not a collector's piece, though I appreciate good design and traditional looks. This would be for a change of pace from my 1911's and Browning Hi-Power.
Thanks for any advice, comments, I am a newbie to this forum, and pretty much to revolvers, so there is a whole lot I don't know.
Ed

·
Registered
42 Posts
My Officers Match .38 is my favorite revolver. I shoot it often.

If you want to make a safe queen out of yours, that's up to you, but unless it is NIB, I'd say shoot it!

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
If you shoot the plates at the speeds that most others shoot with the semi-autos (meaning fairly rapid) then the OMM may not be a great choice for it. The OMM is more of a Bullseye handgun which is shot slower. The accellerated pace of the steel target shoots may require extra maintenance on the old Colt action. The MkIII action like that of the Trooper MkIII may be a better choice and of course the newest MkV action of the King Cobra should be just fine.
It's tough for any of the older revolvers (models with pre-war actions) to keep pace with a semi-auto without a lot of extra attention paid to them.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·