Colt Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2,174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a op I just got. It has the s/n, I think it's 833xxx, not near it at the moment, and then a "t" below that and a "s" below that. I read that the "t" may mean it was targeted at colt for poa/poi but not sure. I don't know what the "s" is. I am new to these, my first op but it was in nice shape with the box for the price.I don't know if it's a common mark? I appreciate any help.

·
Registered
746 Posts
I have a op I just got. It has the s/n, I think it's 833xxx, not near it at the moment, and then a "t" below that and a "s" below that. I read that the "t" may mean it was targeted at colt for poa/poi but not sure. I don't know what the "s" is. I am new to these, my first op but it was in nice shape with the box for the price.I don't know if it's a common mark? I appreciate any help.
"S"is probably an inspector's mark.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
16,467 Posts
In most cases, Colt revolvers that had special order options like targeting were stamped with a letter ABOVE the serial number.
Letters below the serial number are almost always inspectors stamps.
Usually the final inspector stamped his stamp below the serial, but for unknown reasons there are sometimes two stamps below the serial.

The only way to ever know if the gun was special ordered with targeting is to buy a Colt Archive letter.
The letter will state any special order or non-standard features.

·
Registered
2,174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just looked again, there is also an X. All the marks are on the s/n on the frame, the one on the crane is just the numbers. There are also diff #'s and marks on the frame under the stocks that don't correspond to the ones on the frame, I thought those would be the inspectors marks. I don't know much about these so I am just trying to learn from the pros here.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
16,467 Posts