Colt Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post here, as I am fairly new to the idea of forums. I bought an old colt revolver a couple of years ago and have been trying to figure out exactly what it is. The grip frame is stamped U.S. ARMY MODEL 1903 and No. 2400## as seen in the second photo. There are proof marking of KSM and JFH located on the left side and the KSM is also stamped on the cylinder. The left side of the barrel says COLT. D.A. 38. Patents on the top of the barrel are: Aug 5, 1884, Nov 6, 88, and Mar 5, 95. I would like to know as much about this gun as possible. Here's some pictures, if anyone need more just tell me what you need and I will get them.

Also, the cylinder does not rotate unless I point the barrel to the ground. I took the side plate off and found what I beleive to be the spring on the hand broken which would keep the hand from engaging the cylinder. Here's a pic of the broken piece, does anyone know where I may be able to find a replacement?

Thanks for any help,
Bill

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,696 Posts
You have a Model 1903 "New Army & Navy" revolver.
This started off as the Model 1889 "New Navy".

The 1889 was the world's first double action, swing-out cylinder revolver.
This was the direct ancestor of every Colt revolver that followed up until the Colt Python.

These were made in a variety of models, each featuring slight improvements as Colt felt their way into the new design.
Models included the 1889, 1892, 1894, 1895, 1896, 1901, and the final version, the 1903.
Production of the various models ran from 1889 to 1907.

These models were available in a variety of now obsolete calibers including the .38 Short and Long Colt, and the .41 Short and Long Colt.
Many of these early revolvers have chambers that are bored straight through, and will often chamber the .38 Special and even the .357 Magnum.