Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd like to preface this post with a couple of observations. First, I realize some of you fellers are not enamored with an all blue SAA. And an all blue 3rd Gen. SAA...oh the humanity! But, please try to keep an open mind. This blued revolver paired with ivory grips I think is stunning! So go easy on me please.

IMG_0254.JPG
IMG_0257.JPG

This SAA was manufactured in 1989 and came from Colt with ivory grips (so says the end label on the box. I did buy this used so my question is are these real ivory grips? I am far from an ivory expert and can't tell fake from authentic.

I also have a dilemma. I'm getting a little long in the tooth and have a couple of health issues so this one and several of my other prized possessions may be going up for sale in the not too distant future. Can't leave these for my wife to dispose of (she says I'll turn over in my grave if she has to do it and the prices she sells them for) and my brother and sister have no interest in guns, so what's a guy to do? It's gonna be hard though. Some I've had for 35 - 40 years or so. Anyway, my question is, can I even sell this revolver with the ivory grips attached? I know there's been some rule changes and I'm not sure what's legal and what isn't anymore.

Ok, that's it. Fire away!!

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I actually do see some lines on the bottom of the grips but they aren’t nearly as pronounced as the ones in your post. Had to get a magnifying glass to see them. I tried to take a picture of them but they don’t show up at all. Thanks for the suggestion.

·
Registered
3,885 Posts
There’s no federal law against selling that gun with ivory across state lines, unless you’re shipping it to a stupid state.

·
Registered
53 Posts
You should be OK ( in your own State )
"This SAA was manufactured in 1989 and came from Colt with ivory grips (so says the end label on the box."