Colt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all i am new to Colts and the Colt forum but not new to firearms. I have an opportunity to get my first colt 1911 it is a 70's series Govt. blued and in about 85-90% condition. The asking price is $950 and I do not know if this is worth this or not. I was told it was made in 1978 or 79. I know i can purchase newer Colts for less but this is very tempting. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
503 Posts
Contact Colt customer service with the serial number for a production date.

When you say newer Colts, do you mean near in production years 1980's - current year - "newer models" Series 80's - or just brand new?

·
Premium Member
9,519 Posts
If you are wanting a Colt Model of 1911, the gun you mention will not be one. The last Model of 1911 was made in about 1923, other than some recent commemorative Models of 1911.

The price sounds high for a 1970s vintage Government Model in 85-90% condition, but prices do vary around the country. Have you checked the auction sites to see what is available there in used Series 70 Government Models?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
As i said i am new to colt's. I am not really familiar with model years but i have seen what i guess are newer for $750 to $850.

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
If that serial number ends in G70....I can't be sure from the photo. It is a 1976 and that is far better than even 90% from those pics. A lot of people here would pay $950.00 for a Series 70 in that condition. Being new to Colts you won't have an appreciation for this gun as much as many others and you're right...you could get a brand new Colt for the same money but that one pictured is already appreciating.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7