Colt Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Colt revolvers, so I'm not sure what I found. It's marked "COLT OFFICIAL POLICE .38" on the 6" barrel. The serial number is 306264, and when I did a serial number search on Colt Firearm Serial Number Lookup - Year of Manufacture, I got the following results:

1950 OFFICERS MODEL SPECIAL
1929 POLICE POSITIVE .38
1924 POLICE POSITIVE SPECIAL & DETECTIVE SPECIAL
1922 1908 HAMMERLESS .25
1920 NEW SERVICE & SHOOTING MASTER & 1917
1919 1903 HAMMERLESS .32
1918 MODEL 1911 MILITARY
1909 ARMY SPECIAL & OFFICERS MODEL
1908 SINGLE ACTION ARMY & BISLEY REVOLVERS
1868 1849 POCKET (.36 CALIBER)

Since it chambers .38 Special cartridges, I would guess that it may be a Police Positive Special made in 1924 with an Official Police replacement barrel. I double checked the serial number on a second site, Serial Number Data, and it confirmed that the number wasn't correct for the Official Police model.

The gun is well broken in and the bluing is almost gone, but the cylinder locks up tight when the hammer is released and the bore is perfect with clean and sharp rifling. The rear sight can be adjusted for windage via two tiny screws on either side of it.

Firearm Gun Revolver Trigger Gun accessory Firearm Gun Revolver Trigger Gun accessory Revolver Tool accessory Metal Cylinder Metal

·
Registered
1,532 Posts
Based on the general appearance of the revolver and the contour of the topstrap, you have an Army Special that has had the barrel replaced at some point in its history with an Official Police barrel. It also looks like it may have had some modification to the rear sight, but does not look like the sight of an Officers Model.

The Army Special "morphed" into the Official Police around 1927 after a few minor changes. The caliber marking dates the barrel to prior to WWII; it should have a 1926 date as the last patent date on top of the barrel.