Colt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen & Ladies,
I am somewhat new to this form and this is my first post. I have a .22 Peacemaker (S/N G10xxx), barrel marked "Peacemaker .22". My readings suggest that strength shouldn't be an issue with this pun. I have recently acquired a like-new .22 WMR cylinder and, no surprises here, it's not a drop in. The cylinder can be installed and rotates until you try and install the cylinder pin, which can't be seated. My local gunsmith (Gander Mountain) refused to touch it, saying that he hadn't the ability to re-cut the rear bushing, if necessary. Can anyone suggest a gunsmith in SE Wisconsin who is capable of this? I've thought of swapping it for a regular combo but I'm kind attached to the little piece. Thoughts?
Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
417 Posts
Are you sure its a Colt cylinder? The parts were pretty much interchangeable, but not always.

Welcome to the forum.
I have a Colt .22 magnum fluted cylinder and it won't drop in to either of my Peacemakers. Haven't taken it to a gunsmith yet.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
How can I tell if it's Colt or not? My trusty Starrett dial calipers show the same dimensions within .001-.002.

·
Premium Member
7,343 Posts
I've tried cylinders that came from Numrich and they wouldn't work due to their manufacturing. I could see the problem with some of the teeth in the rear side (ratchet side) of the cylinder.
There are occurrences when the factory cylinders don't fit in a frame.. Most of the time it does just drop in and work. It can be fitted if the cylinder length is slightly too long- metal can be removed. If the cylinder is too short, then one would have to try another cylinder.

If wondering if it's a Colt cylinder, I can tell a distinct difference in the finish of the remanufactured cylinders and the genuine Colt cylinders. The original Colt finishes are much much better.. Glossy blued.