Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought one of these today, .38 Sp. The piece looks like only a few rounds through it, very light cylinder line and no handling marks. When were these made. I am new to Colt's so I don't know much about them. I also have have a King Cobra.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hey, we must be on the same wavelength in regards to this type of revolver. Someone I work with bought a Police Positive MK V back in 1996 for $250. He is in the same boat as you and does not know anything about the revolver. His serial number is RD1627. Maybe someone can let the both of us know a little history on this revolver and when they were made.

·
Registered
535 Posts
Well, Sirs - Sage and bigjohn, I'm no help to you. Both names are familiar Colt-ese, "Police Positive," and, "Mark V." The PP is a small, D frame Colt - like a Detective Special with a longer barrel and the Mark V I've heard of with Troopers. But the two together - I have no clue. Sorry.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
Colt did bring the PP back into production in 1994. It was the PPS with the "S" dropped and MkV added. It was a 4 incher with a full shroud in either blue or nickel. They were dropped in 1995 when the D-frame was upgraded.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks all. Majic, that is about all I know about them. The guy I bought it from told me keep it as a collector and not to shoot it. It caught my eye and seems like a nice gun though.

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
bigjohn

Sorry, can't help you on the serial number as nothing has been published past 1985.

------------------
Dick

IN GOD WE TRUST,
BUT KEEP YOUR POWDER DRY,
JUST IN CASE!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Thanks diamondback. The owner of the gun also tried to research it and was unable to find out much about it. I guess he will have to get ahold of Colt if he wants more info.

·
Registered
794 Posts